Silver or silver plated egg cup hallmark ID

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
lucyslocker

Silver or silver plated egg cup hallmark ID

Post by lucyslocker »

Newbie here! I inherited a vintage egg cup from my mother-in-law. She lived in Germany for many years and travelled extensively through Europe and the surrounding countries. I do not know where she procured this cup prior to adding it to her collection of egg cups. It is highly tarnished and has a hallmark on the outer rim. It appears to be a 4 to the left of a square. In the square it looks like a double headed bird in the center with a large E in the bottom right corner. Some of the mark has worn off and it is very small, making identification difficult. I do not know if it is silver or plated but it was quite a chore removing the tarinsh from a small area. Hours of Internet research on the mark led me to this Forum. I respectfully request any help with identification of the mark. Identifying the mark will surely lead to determining the metal!

Here are the details:
Decorated band near the top of the rim (crosshatch?)
Footed (pedestal)
Hallmark on undecorated band above the decoration
No marks on the base
Approximate measurements:
2 3/4" tall
1 5/8 diameter bowl
1 7/16" diameter base
1 5/8" deep bowl

I used a jewelers cloth to remove some of the tarnish near the hallmark. Photos are below.
Thank you for your time!
Lucy

Essexboy Fisher
contributor

Re: Silver or silver plated egg cup hallmark ID

Post by Essexboy Fisher »