Need help finding origin/date/purpose of an antique piece

What was this used for? - PHOTO REQUIRED
ReneB

Need help finding origin/date/purpose of an antique piece

Post by ReneB »

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I'm hoping someone will be able to help me place this piece of jewelry. It's a bit of a mystery to me. I've posted this piece on various online forums and so far not one person has been able to figure it out!

It's a very heavy and large solid sterling frame pendant. It's unmarked but tested positive for sterling silver (fyi - I did not to that horrible scratch test on the back of the piece).

The person I bought it from claimed it was Japanese - but, I honestly don't think they are right. I believe it could be Mongolian and some have suggested Mayan.

The eyes on the warrior men seem to be scratched out or sewn shut. Possibly depicting the dead? I have no idea!

Also, if it was meant to hold an actual picture it would be one of a very unusual size... considering the narrowness and height of the frame itself.

So... does anyone have an opinion on this? Ever seen anything like it?

I appreciate any answers or guesses!

Thank you!

JLDoggett
co-admin

Re: Need help finding origin/date/purpose of an antique piec

Post by JLDoggett »

Most likely South American; from the blend of Aztec/Inca motifs; C,1890-1910; and meant to be a picture frame to hang on a wall.
WarrenKundis
contributor

Post by WarrenKundis »

Very nice frame. Looking at the back side of the frame in front of your ring finger, there seems to be a very faint mark. Can you get a closer shot?

Warren
ReneB

Post by ReneB »

Thank you for your replies!

JLDoggett, have you seen anything like this before?? Is it common for a picture frame to be this narrow? Someone mentioned to me, in another forum, that it could have possibly held a stone.