Irish spoon

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
DGol

Irish spoon

Post by DGol »

Hello, I have never tried to research hallmarks before and would like confirmation on what I *think* these marks mean. Is that Victoria? And the date 1867? This is puzzling because the initials on the spoon, "LHM" and the Morton family crest, seem to indicate my 3rd great-grandfather, Lewis Hawkes Morton (1762-1839). So I wonder if I am reading the marks right. Also I can't figure out what the third mark is, the one that looks like a chair. Any help will be gratefully received! Thank you.

DGol

Re: Irish spoon

Post by DGol »

I hope you can see the images in my post ... I can't! Am going to try linking to the Google photos.
https://goo.gl/photos/2QK6foQsUkJbw73s6
https://goo.gl/photos/FkyhRfQfKZidgmHS7
DGol

Post by DGol »

Wish I could edit my previous posts instead of adding replies like an idiot. LOL ... anyhow, here are the hallmarks I was talking about.
https://goo.gl/photos/PqUEJwiZsRuuAdcL6
SteveDWollongong
contributor

Post by SteveDWollongong »

Hi Diane,

The marks reading from top to bottom are:

Maker - JS, but unknown to me.
Duty mark - Queen Victoria
Dublin Assay Office - Hibernia
Irish Silver Fineness Mark - Crowned Harp denoting 925 sterling silver. (This is like the lion rampart/passant used in England).

Cheers,
Steve
DGol

Post by DGol »

Thank you very much! And am I correct that the W at the bottom indicates 1867?
SteveDWollongong
contributor

Post by SteveDWollongong »

Sorry, I meant to confirm that for you and forgot. You are correct with the 'w' being 1867.

S
scorpio
contributor

Post by scorpio »

Hi Diane,

Yes, it's a Dublin silver spoon fully hallmarked for 1867 but as to who the silversmith is, I don't know either. At first I though maybe John Smyth but he died in 1855. Another silversmith, also John Smyth and possibly his son, worked after him and used a similar J.S mark. Neither of their marks resemble the J.S on your spoon.