Identify Maker 'A&S', Birmingham (c) 1850 please

MARK IMAGE REQUIRED
EnT

Identify Maker 'A&S', Birmingham (c) 1850 please

Post by EnT »

Hello forum.

Could someone please help identify the Birmingham maker A & S on a vinaigrette dated 1849 please.

The marks are as clear as I can get them. Click the thumbnail to enlarge the image.

Top mark is one the lid and bottom on the base.

Thank you in advance,

Ian T
byron mac donald

Post by byron mac donald »

Hi Ian-

I am new to this also, but I think it is "Thomas Aston & William Aston", registered Birmingham 6 August 1857, the date letter on yours looks like a "K" ? and with the shape of the cartouche would date it to 1859? Could be one of the later K's also. here is the Birmingham assay office where I found this, perhaps you could better match the date mark while there also.

http://www.theassayoffice.uk.com/esh/accept.asp" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Regards- Byron
EnT

Post by EnT »

Byron,

Thank you. How did I miss that!?

I searched the Birmingham Assay site before I posted here and didn't find the A&S mark. I think what threw me was not being able to enter the '&'. Tried it again without the '&' just entering AS and up it popped.

Thanks again, as always the forum comes to the rescue!

Ian T
byron mac donald

Post by byron mac donald »

Hi Ian-

Did you figure out the date mark? the picture is not clear enough for me to tell for sure which letter it is.

Regards- Byron
EnT

Post by EnT »

Byron,

Actually I made a typo in the original post. It is a 'K' anf I meant to type 1859 and not 49. Good spot as the date letter was very obscure in my photo.

Ian T
DaveJvu

Re: Identify Maker 'A&S', Birmingham (c) 1850 please

Post by DaveJvu »

Good evening