Help Identifying Maker and Marks of Rose Design Silver Piece

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
pinkylaru

Help Identifying Maker and Marks of Rose Design Silver Piece

Post by pinkylaru »

Hello all, As you can tell from my wacky pasted photos this is my first time posting on this forum. I recently bought these lovely forks and spoons at an local auction. I have been unable to identify this pattern or maker anywhere. I can make out the 800 mark and a crown and moon mark. But it is the makers mark that I cannot make out on any of the pieces. I was hoping perhaps someone could identify the lovely pattern. You help is greatly appreciated.If you click on the thumnails they will link to larger photo. Thank you so much for your help.
Best Regards,
Darlene

ImageImage
Theoderich
contributor

Re: Help Identifying Maker and Marks of Rose Design Silver P

Post by Theoderich »

silverport
contributor

Maker's Mark of Rose Design could be Wilhelm Ludwig, Hanau

Post by silverport »

Hello

in picture: http://a.imagehost.org/view/0893/IMG_2781" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

shown maker's mark could be that of Wilhelm Ludwig, Hanau.

Look: http://www.925-1000.com/Fgerman_hanau_marks_01.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Kind regards silverport
Bahner
contributor

Post by Bahner »

Hello, yes, that is Lang's mark. Best wishes, Bahner
silverport
contributor

Cutlery pattern «Rose 300» - made by Wilhelm Ludwig, Hanau

Post by silverport »

Hello

Researched and very excellent documented by Mrs. Johanna Gehrlein, in her recently published book «Rosen-Bestecke» (ISBN 978-3-9813273-0-4), pages 80, 82-83. Books illustrations be very detailed (quite more then 1000; I haven’t count yet) in colour, duotone and b/w. All Makers’ mark shown — if existed; some marks be shown there first time ever. Also if marks were bad struck they were shown and explained — contra indication of collector’s headache!